Our Project Team

A passionate Board of Directors is leading the organization onto the national stage. Along with a team of experts, advisors, consultants and volunteers, the board is guiding the architectural, exhibit design and building processes, and a $65M capital campaign. A Campaign Cabinet with members and advisors spanning the country are seeking support from donors nationwide.

Fundraising Cabinet

Bill Morris (Chair), CEO, The Stewart Group
Alicia Doris, Director of Communications, Canadian Canoe Museum
David Hadden, Advisor, Lakefield College School Foundation
Carolyn Hyslop, Executive Director, Canadian Canoe Museum
Bill Lockington, Partner, LLF Lawyers
Sarah McMahon, Campaign Consultant
Shirlanne Pawley-Boyd, Director of Philanthropy, Canadian Canoe Museum
Ken Powell, Retired Executive, Imperial Oil
John Ronson, National Director, Telus Health
Jeff Taylor, CPA, Partner, Collins Barrow

Fundraising Advisors

Wendy Cecil, Chancellor, Victoria University (UofT)
Hugh Christie, Managing Partner, Ogeltree Deakins
John Jennings,
Retired Professor, Trent University
Paul Kitchen,
Past Head of School, Rothesay Netherwood School
Rudy Massimo,
Director of External Relations and Chief Advancement Officer, Shawnigan Lake School
Al Pace,
Owner, Artist, Canoe North Adventures
James Raffan,
Director of External Relations, The Canadian Canoe Museum
Ken Rosenberg,
Lawyer, Paliare Roland Barristers
Donald Ross, Chairman, Leede Jones Gable
Peter Snell, Partner, Gowling WLG
David Thompson, Head of School, Montcrest School
Rodger Wright, Special Advisor, Advancement and Strategy, Upper Canada College

Design Committee

Jocelyn Brown (Chair)
Lisa Rochon (Design Director)
Nadia Amoroso
Dave Bowick
Sheila Britton
Andrew Frontini
Ryan Gorrie
Hugh Macklin
Alissa North
Chris Pommer
Dave Wills

Exhibit Design Committee

Dianne Lister (Chair)
Rick Beaver
Jamie Benidickson
Rob Clark
Darren Keith
Deb Scott
Dale Standen 

Board of Directors

John Ronson, Chair
Bill Morris, Past Chair
Rob Clark, Treasurer, Chair of Finance Committee  
Jocelyn Brown
Vicky Grant
Dr. Jenny Ingram
Deborah Jacobs
Dianne Lister
Bill Lockington
Hugh Macklin
Kevin Malone
Val McRae
Ken Powell, Chair of Governance Committee
Raif Richardson
Heather Stelzer

Project Director

Richard Tucker

Campaign Consultants

The Dennis Group Inc.

Sarah McMahon, Senior Consultant
Jackie Jones, Senior Consultant
Chonee Dennis, President & CEO
Kelsey Slobodian, Campaign Consulting Associate


Be a part of history in-the-making